Jen's Lens

A Photo a Day from Jen C

Weekend Stuff 07.12.2009

image-50428316-640x480

Last night I checked out some bands at Ash’s Place. Charlie Looker of Extra Life curated the evening (Skeletons, Our Brother the Native, Religious Girls, Extra Life).  I didn’t love all of the bands, but I had a sweet armchair up front that I wasn’t about to leave. I also really liked the venue, which was sort of part art gallery, part loading dock.

php5ESnA8PM

Today I went (with Ryan up there) to check out the first of this summer’s Pool Parties, which moved from McCarren Pool to the Williamsburg waterfront. I love the new space, the view, the water. The only issue (aside from lacking shade) is that you have to sit in this gated area if you want to drink, but the beer is free and it’s fairly close to the stage (though these things are only true for the VIP area)… so who can really complain? Can’t wait to see Dirty Projectors here next weekend! Today I only really watched Ponytail, because I keep trying to love them… but it still stands that I only love them when watching this video.

 

Leave a Reply

